She Surprises

What I forgot in the last post, or forgot today – while waiting all day unshowered, furry-tongued and slightly-dazed for a team of Bengali plumbers sent by the landlord to replace old pipe, fix my radiator, fix a burst pipe in the basement that had left us without water (had to “wash” by rubbing my pits and parts with an antiseptic hand sanitiser from Duane Reade’s pharmacy, which also sells milk, booze, cigarettes and myriad “candies”)- what I forgot was that New York always has something else up her sleeve: just when you’re ready to give up on her, she always surprises (In North African cultures, the moon is a young man, wearied and made more slender by morning, after trysts with an older, beautiful sensual woman, the sun – and so, New York could be a man, to some of you). After class, I sat in the Tree House bar on Greenwich ave with a class mate, an actor and poet, a new friend who lived in Galway for a year ten years ago, and discussed some of the peeves about the city mentioned in the last post (short attention spans, people giving each other short shrift, people passing on and passing you by, and over). He nodded, “I completely agree,” and listened. Two Brooklyn Lagers and an hour later, we were ten topics from there, and I was at peace with the world.

Published by

New York Peristalsis

My name is David McLoghlin, I am the author of "Waiting for Saint Brendan and Other Poems" (Salmon Poetry, July 2012); I am an Irish poet, writer and literary translator, who currently lives in New York, and blogs about its vicissitudes, while not writing other things, like my 2nd collection. I moved to NYC in 2010 to study at NYU's MFA Program in Creative Writing, from which I graduated in 2012, two months before my book was published. Before moving to the US, I lived in Ireland, Spain, Belgium, France, the USA, and travelled in a variety of countries (including Morocco, Czechoslovakia (when it was that country), Paraguay, Uruguay, Argentina and Norway), whilst engaged in a number of pursuits. Newyorkperistalsis.wordpress.com came about as a catch-all for impressions related to moving to NYC alone: culture shock, in essence, and all her ugly sisters.

2 thoughts on “She Surprises”

  1. Duane Reade’s sounds like a Spanish Droguería to me. In Welsh the grass is blue and the translation of biblical little lambs for Eskimos was seals. Ways of looking at things. I was shocked to find out at Uni, enlightened by a feminist lecturer, talking about Sylvia Plath, that the moon was feminine. To me the moon looks like a benevolent bald guy. I grew up with the idea of the man in the moon.

Leave a Reply

